Thread: Rendering issues when importing custom models

Rendering issues when importing custom models

I'm new to 3D modeling, and relatively new to TTS, so I'm probably doing something wrong. When I import models, some (but not all) have weird, bulging, lumpy geometry where my Tinkercad model had smooth, simple curves or even flat surfaces and right angles. The weird thing is that I can't seem to figure out why it happens to some details on some models, but not others.

For example, here are two big ships with lots of tiny detail and two smaller ships with much less details. The big ships rendered beautifully, down to the 0.5mm flagpoles, but the smaller ships, with simpler geometry and little detail, came out lumpy and bulbous.

To make it weirder, the smaller ships were built out of copies of the big ships' Tinkercad models. That is, I just duplicated the big ship model, made some modifications, and exported it as the small ship. But it both cases, the big ship looks great, and the small ship, not so much.

I even took one of the small ships and added a whole bunch of extra detail to it, to see if that would counter-intuitively improve the render. What I found was that some tiny details (like the 0.5 mm rows of pipes) rendered very nicely, while simple things like the side of the hull got deformed. And holes that I added to one surface rendered perfectly, while holes I added to another surface turned into strange indented X's.

Has anyone else had problems like this? At first, I just thought I'd hit the rendering limits of TTS, but then I tried those two big, highly-detailed ships just to see, and they turned out great. So, I'm assuming either I'm doing something wrong, or there are specific things that TTS can render well and certain things it can't, but I can't figure out what they are.

Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

Your smoothing groups aren't setup correctly in your 3d modeling program for those models.

Quote Originally Posted by Knil View Post